Johnson sworn into another term

From the Portsmouth Daily Times -

Wayne Allen
PDT Staff Writer

Recently Sixth District Congressman Bill Johnson was sworn in as a member of the 113th Congress. Johnson was elected to another term in office during the November election, this marks this second term in congress.

Johnson said he was humbled to be selected by the voters of the Sixth District to represent them.

“Our nation faces serious fiscal challenges due to Washington’s addiction to spending. While Washington’s spending problems are not new, out of control spending over the last four years has reached epic proportions. Consequently, our $16 trillion national debt threatens the prosperity of our children and grandchildren and America’s ability to defend itself,” Johnson said in a released statement. “Right now, we have a choice. We can continue business as usual in Washington with more spending and more debt or we can chart a new course for America that will give our children and grandchildren the same opportunities to live the American Dream that my generation has been blessed with.”

According to Johnson’s biography on,, “Johnson entered the U.S. Air Force in 1973, and retired as a Lieutenant Colonel after a distinguished military career of more than 26 years. Following his retirement from military service, Johnson turned to creating and building high technology businesses. He cofounded Johnson-Schley Management Group, Inc., an information technology (IT) consulting company. In 2003 he left Johnson-Schley to form J2 Business Solutions, Inc., where he focused on providing executive level IT support as a defense contractor to the U.S. military.”

“I am grateful for the opportunity and extremely honored to serve the people of eastern and southeastern Ohio for another term in Congress. I am ready to tackle the difficult challenges ahead, and look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the political aisle to find common sense solutions that work for the American people,” Johnson said in a released statement.

Ohio’s Sixth Congressional District is made up of 18 counties in Eastern and Southeastern Ohio. The counties in the Sixth district include, Belmont County, Columbiana County, Carroll County, Gallia County, Guernsey County, Harrison County, Jackson County, Jefferson County, Lawrence County, Meigs County, Monroe County, Noble County, and Washington County.

The Sixth Congressional District also includes portions of Athens County, Mahoning County, Muskingum County, Scioto County, and Tuscarawas County.